Ardour 3.0 Midi

Everything and anything, but nothing about the LinuxSampler project.

Ardour 3.0 Midi

Postby ccherrett » Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:17 am

Ardour is moving it's main development to the 3.0 branch and with it will be the new midi functionality. Here is a screenshot:

Image

You can switch channels on the notes with a right click. I am told that we will soon be able to change programs within the channels very soon. And there is work being started on midi maps soon.

The interface is scalable and intuitive. Velocities are controlled with scrolling selected notes. the velocity shows in the note itself with a color change and a number.

You can also multi select and change channels for a range of selected notes. Hopefully we will see the program changes adjustable in the same way. It would also be nice if when program changing we could select from the instrument name and not just 0-127. We will see. The devs are working hard and easy to talk to about changes.

Good job Ardour team!
Christopher Cherrett
Founder of The Open Octave Project
http://www.openoctave.org
ccherrett
Advanced User
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: Ardour 3.0 Midi

Postby dahnielson » Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:42 am

Yes! Yes! Yes! (I think I'm having a orgasm.)
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: Ardour 3.0 Midi

Postby ccherrett » Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:44 am

dahnielson wrote:Yes! Yes! Yes! (I think I'm having a orgasm.)


I am not sure what to say :)
Christopher Cherrett
Founder of The Open Octave Project
http://www.openoctave.org
ccherrett
Advanced User
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: Ardour 3.0 Midi

Postby dahnielson » Tue Sep 16, 2008 9:43 pm

I compiled it the other day and installed it locally in my user account (to be really sure I didn't mess up my ardrour2 installation). Looking good. It's obviously still early days as I could barely use it as its operation was kinda flaky. But I'm looking forward to when it's stable enough for daily use, letting me do MIDI sequencing and mixing in the same application.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: Ardour 3.0 Midi

Postby ccherrett » Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:33 pm

Yes it still is a little unstable but now that the 3.0 branch is getting all the attention it should clean up quickly (I hope).

I cannot wait till it is working stable. It will be a huge bonus to do everything in ardour! :)
Christopher Cherrett
Founder of The Open Octave Project
http://www.openoctave.org
ccherrett
Advanced User
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:24 pm


Return to 100% Project Unrelated

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron