Please help-1st time install of 64Studio/linuxsampler questi

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.
Greg

Please help-1st time install of 64Studio/linuxsampler questi

Post by Greg » Thu Sep 17, 2009 7:32 pm

Hey Guys, please forgive the total newbie questions. I've done a lot of forum searching and reading but not found all my answers... or at least didn't recognize them if I did. I've never had a linux machine before, so some of this command line stuff is pretty mysterious at this point.

After a year of cold feet, I just installed 64Studio 3.0, AMD64 on an HP wx4600 workstation, core 2 duo 3.0 machine with the intent of running linuxsampler as a slave to a Powermac running Digital Performer. I'm replacing a Gigastudio on XP pro machine that died. I have a good start... The 64Studio install seems to have worked ok, as did Java and Fantasia installs. Connected with Jack, I have midi input to fantasia and audio output (analog only at this point) through my Gina24 card. I'm excited that I've gotten this far, and like what I hear from linuxsampler way better than Kontakt, but, I have some questions.

1. does fantasia/linuxsampler support midi cc#11?
I can hear that it responds to cc#7 and cc#10, but not cc#11(expression). Is there a list somewhere of supported midi cc#'s?

2. "LinuxSampler not build with database support" How do I add database support?

3. Tips on the best strategy for managing orchestras, instruments, midi maps, and saving all the loaded instruments and channel settings. I probably won't need to send patch changes on a specific channel, more likely to have a separate channel for every instrument and add channels as needed.

4. Is it possible to have more than 4 ports, 16 channels each?

5. Should I expect similar or (hopefully) better performance and number of instruments able to load compared to Gigastudio on XP?