The Newbies mission...HELP please

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.
bruce

The Newbies mission...HELP please

Post by bruce » Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:09 pm

Hi Everyone,

I’m an amateur hobbyist who plays keyboards & would love to be able to use Gigasampler files with Linux Sampler on my PC. Unfortnately, I know almost nothing about source code, Linux/line prompt commands & computer programming being your everyday normal common non-techie Windows user.

I downloaded & installed the full Windows package however I didn’t get the program to work as I may not have all of the files (such as drivers) that are needed. I would like to be able to play/trigger the soundfiles with my synthesizer and with my computer keyboard.
Please, would any of you be willing to walk me step by step through the process that will get the program suite to be in full working order and/or point me to a tutorial that does the same thing?

I wish I knew how to proceed so I can utilize my gigasample file collection , start making music and having some fun.

Thanks so much in advance for taking an active interest in my case.

Bruce

dakylla
User

Re: The Newbies mission...HELP please

Post by dakylla » Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:52 pm

hi, welcome

maybe you should read this : http://www.linuxsampler.org/windows.html

ggoodesa
Advanced User

Post by ggoodesa » Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:32 pm

Hi Bruce,

There are a few basic questions that must be asked in order to help you...

What soundcard are you using? Does it come with ASIO drivers or will you be using the generic ASIO4ALL drivers?
What MIDI interface are you using? Through your soundcard or USB Midi?
If you're using the Fantasia Frontend, do you have Java installed?
What GIG instrument files do you have to load into Linuxsampler?