General MIDI (coming from Gigastudio)

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.

General MIDI (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby raintalk » Tue Aug 05, 2008 7:31 pm

Hi Folks,

I'm coming from Gigastudio using Windows XP. I heard about LInux Sampler from the petition to make GS opensource.

So far no problems using GS .gigs with Linuxsampler on Windows. That is really good news. :D

My questions is on GM. I own Conexant GM500. With Gigastudio it it loads the samples then GM messages will load requested samples to the midi channel. It works well for some of my needs. There's a mapping GMLibrary.ini file that if I buy a better sample for an instrument I can just point to it. Is there a way to use GM with LS?

Thanks in advance,
raintalk
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby dahnielson » Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:11 pm

You need to create an instrument map in LS for your GM library, so that LS know what instrument from what .gig to load when it receive a bank or program change.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby raintalk » Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:25 am

Thanks!

Got it working. Sounds great.

For some reason, when loading the .lscp with Fantasia it goes into some kind of loop on loading midi instruments and eventually crashes.
Qsampler loads it fine. But Linuxsampler seems to randomly crash. I don't know what triggers it to crash yet.
It's probably just Windows.
I was stuck with XP because of gigastudio so maybe it's time to switch to Linux! It's good to know how well this works.
I'll keep playing.
raintalk
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby dahnielson » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:52 am

What version of Fantasia do you use? CVS3?

I have experienced some complexity issues (or something similar of that kind) with Fantasia when loading big instruments maps before, but thought they where fixed now. My work around is to use netcat or something similar to load the LSCP file to LinuxSampler (the back-end) and when done then start Fantasia. (Well, if you're using a MIDI instrument map then you don't need to use a front-end since you are changing programs from within the sequencer, so starting Fantasia is optional then.)
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby ccherrett » Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:12 am

Hi dahnielson,

I am really glad you brought up loading the midimap via netcat because my huge midimap is realy slow!

Can you give an example of how to do it?

Also did you read my post on the bit of error handling and option parsing I wrote into your lscp2rgd.py?

Thanks!
Christopher Cherrett
Founder of The Open Octave Project
http://www.openoctave.org
ccherrett
Advanced User
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:24 pm

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby raintalk » Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:01 pm

I'm using Fantasia-0.8a.jar
Just whatever the pre-built version for Windows is.

I use GM as a safety net to get to a warm comfy place I know I can always get back to.
I want to get a baseline set where GM works close to the same for Gigastudio or Linuxsampler.
I want to have a good GM setup from a reboot.
For now I tweak the .lscp with a text editor then reload using qsampler GUI.

I probably won't use the GUI's for GM, but will find a use for them with other stuff.

Thanks
raintalk
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby dahnielson » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:02 pm

raintalk wrote:I'm using Fantasia-0.8a.jar
Just whatever the pre-built version for Windows is.


This is the latest version:

http://sourceforge.net/project/showfile ... _id=241989
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: General Midi (coming from Gigastudio)

Postby dahnielson » Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:07 pm

ccherrett wrote:Hi dahnielson,

I am really glad you brought up loading the midimap via netcat because my huge midimap is realy slow!

Can you give an example of how to do it?


Well, you just fire up LinuxSampler and then use netcat to send the LSCP file to LinuxSampler. I don't know exactly how to use netcat under Windows, but there's at least a Windows port of it according to Wikipedia:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netcat
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden


Return to Newbies & Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron