MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Everything and anything, but nothing about the LinuxSampler project.
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden
Contact:

MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by dahnielson » Fri Feb 01, 2008 6:52 pm

Do anyone know about any Linux application that let you build MIDI filters: from simple tasks like transposing the incoming notes to the more complex like automatic insertion of keyswitches (e.g. for up and down bows)?
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Consul
Moderator
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:19 pm
Location: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by Consul » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:04 pm

I believe Tim Thompson's Keykit works on Linux: http://nosuch.com/keykit/

It's as deep and thorough as they come, too.
Darren Landrum

User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by dahnielson » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:22 pm

Looks interesting, but this is a show stopper:
12. How well does it work on Linux?

KeyKit works on Linux, but only with external MIDI devices (using the /dev/midi device driver). Internal sound devices are not supported. If Linux developers write better support for MIDI, this might change.
:o

Hmph... ALSA.. ahem... Jack MIDI... mmm...
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Consul
Moderator
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:19 pm
Location: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by Consul » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:31 pm

Yeah, I guess that puts a stop to that. Paul Davis mentioned that Ardour 3 is going to have Keykit-like functionality for MIDI, but I don't know when that's getting released. Other than that, I don't know of anything. Sorry.
Darren Landrum

User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by dahnielson » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:42 pm

Consul wrote:Yeah, I guess that puts a stop to that. Paul Davis mentioned that Ardour 3 is going to have Keykit-like functionality for MIDI, but I don't know when that's getting released. Other than that, I don't know of anything. Sorry.
That will be extremely cool. I plan to use Ardour 3 as my main sequencer when it's released. I'm guessing it's easier to implement generic MIDI scripting and develop tools in it than creating quantizers and whatnot in C++.

I'll wait.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Consul
Moderator
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:19 pm
Location: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by Consul » Fri Feb 01, 2008 7:47 pm

Well, I should clarify: I remember once reading a (blog, I think) post from him wherein he mentioned that such functionality was the plan.

Just covering my butt... :)
Darren Landrum

User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by dahnielson » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:22 pm

Yes, you do that. :twisted:

I think I will try to hack something together in Python in the meantime.

What currently irritates me is that the transpose button on my main keyboard (Roland HP 1300e) is broken and I can't access some keyswitches and notes... drive me nuts.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux

User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by dahnielson » Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:28 pm

Just want to inform everybody that I've been doing some MIDI-scripting lately using the alsaseq python module found here:

http://pp.com.mx/python/alsaseq/

I'm currently working on a guitar chord strumming performance tool and will probably release it once I've slapped a GUI onto it.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux

User avatar
Consul
Moderator
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:19 pm
Location: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by Consul » Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:05 pm

dahnielson wrote:What currently irritates me is that the transpose button on my main keyboard (Roland HP 1300e) is broken and I can't access some keyswitches and notes... drive me nuts.
That's why some of us have 88-key monsters, like this one:

Image

:twisted: :mrgreen:

Thanks for the tip on the Python module. Pretty soon, Python will be able to do everything. Hell, someone's even coding a DAW in it: http://www.jokosher.org/

Jokosher is actually a pretty cool program. I don't know how its real-time performance or latency is, though.
Darren Landrum

User avatar
Consul
Moderator
Posts: 189
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:19 pm
Location: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Contact:

Re: MIDI filter / scripting (?)

Post by Consul » Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:09 pm

The Jokosher Website wrote:The audio engine is powered by GStreamer...
There goes any hope of real-time safety. To be fair, though, the GStreamer folks are trying to fix that. Hell, I wouldn't be surprised to find out that a lot of professional Windows music applications aren't RT-safe.
Darren Landrum

Post Reply