Page 1 of 2

SVN configure?

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 2:31 pm
by Alex
Is SVN ./configure (options) working correctly? I seem to be missing some sort of configure executable, and/or no autogen to build one.

Anyone else?

This is for all normal svn installs, that is, non java.

Alex.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:30 pm
by antiesen
Sorry if the question is too silly -
did you

make -f Makefile.cvs?

Greetings,
antiesen

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 12:15 pm
by Alex
antiesen wrote:Sorry if the question is too silly -
did you

make -f Makefile.cvs?

Greetings,
antiesen

antiesen, I would if i was using CVS. I'm referring to the SVN build. LS has switched.

Not a silly question though.

Alex.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Fri Jul 15, 2011 11:29 pm
by Alex
Ok, got this one figured out finally.

Dependent on your version of autoconf, the svn directory is D/L from the LS site, then cd into that directory, and run:

autoreconf --install


to create an executable configure.

Then run

./configure <with any options you want>

followed by

make

then

make install (as root)


Once you've done this the first time, simply update the svn directory with:

svn update

then, if you're using the same configure options, go directly to:

make

and

make install (as root)



phew...

Alex.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 8:45 am
by Andreas
Oh, you don't need to do it that way. The Makefile.cvs file still works! Right after checkout from svn, just do:

make -f Makefile.cvs

Makefile.cvs doesn't include anything specific to CVS. Sorry, we should probably have renamed that file when we did the move to svn.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 10:29 pm
by tdy.pato
Hi!,
I know it kind of outdated, but, it is possible to have the solution to these threat added to the documentation of how-to in the web page?
I'm new to LinuxSampler and I'm NOT an advanced user but even so, I try to install LS through svn and end up loosing my head (and quite a number of hours :) until finally find these threat. That its of absolute help for installing from svn in kubuntu.
Theres other thing that I think is missing in the dependencies list that is libsndfile dev package.
Just now ./configure just ask for the version of it. I had the lib but not the dev package :). Solved easily but still is nice to know before hands.

Thanks! And now to try LS and have fun!!!

tdy.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:54 pm
by Alex
Andreas, i've made a note of your superior method. :)

Alex.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 5:58 pm
by Alex
tdy.pato wrote:Hi!,
I know it kind of outdated, but, it is possible to have the solution to these threat added to the documentation of how-to in the web page?
I'm new to LinuxSampler and I'm NOT an advanced user but even so, I try to install LS through svn and end up loosing my head (and quite a number of hours :) until finally find these threat. That its of absolute help for installing from svn in kubuntu.
Theres other thing that I think is missing in the dependencies list that is libsndfile dev package.
Just now ./configure just ask for the version of it. I had the lib but not the dev package :). Solved easily but still is nice to know before hands.

Thanks! And now to try LS and have fun!!!

tdy.

Good to hear you're up and running.

The lib, lib-dev thing, is a "debian/ubuntu/some others" packaging system thing.

So as a general "rule" when you install libraries, or in fact many packages using a debian based system, it's a good idea to watch for any -dev libs as well as the package you want to install.

Alex.



Alex.

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:10 pm
by albertid
Hi,

after I got over the autotools weirdness, linuxsampler fails to build because of a missing SF.h. Even when I --disable-sf2-engine, SF.h is still required in the SFZ engine.

Could you please add a configure switch like --disable-sfz-engine?

All the best,
albertid

Re: SVN configure?

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:14 pm
by Alex
Al, are you using the very latest SVN update?

I had a similar problem but the latest SVN solved it.

Alex.