Naming of ports

Things that make the work with LinuxSampler & Co easier, better, faster, louder and more sexy. Including friends like JACK, ALSA, etc.

Naming of ports

Postby Alex » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:06 pm

To the LS team, i have a feature request, and that's the ability to name ports (aliases.)
If we could name midi ports, for example, 'midiport 0 1st Violins', and audio ports, for example, 'port 0 1st Violins L, port 1 1st Violins R', and so on, then we'd be able to see this in qjackctl, and it would make the port indentification process much easier.

If we could do this at the channel creation stage, as well as at device creation level, i think this would be highly useful, and an added favourable element of the Linuxsampler journey.

:)

Alex.
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Naming of ports

Postby dahnielson » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:15 pm

Umm... like this?

Image
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: Naming of ports

Postby Alex » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:32 pm

Hehe, Anders, you're ahead of me then. :mrgreen:
Where did you do this, in LS, or in qjackctl?

Alex.

Edit: There's never enough hours in the day to cover everything!
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Naming of ports

Postby dahnielson » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:47 pm

I did it in Fantasia where there are a name field to set for each port normally containing an integer by default.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: Naming of ports

Postby Alex » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:48 pm

dahnielson wrote:I did it in Fantasia where there are a name field to set for each port normally containing an integer by default.


Aaaah, i'm using Qsamp. Ok, i'll keep digging.
Thanks for the heads up.
:)

Alex.
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Naming of ports

Postby dahnielson » Tue Feb 26, 2008 12:52 pm

Well, you can always edit a saved LSCP file manually to rename ports, unless QSampler filter out stuff it won't support when you load the edited file.
Last edited by dahnielson on Tue Feb 26, 2008 4:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: Naming of ports

Postby Alex » Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:11 pm

Anders,
there's not an option to do this in Qsamp, so i'll have a look at your alternate options.
Thanks!
:)
Alex.
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: Naming of ports

Postby dahnielson » Tue Feb 26, 2008 4:17 pm

Yes, QSampler lacks access to a lot of features that is already in LinuxSampler.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: Naming of ports

Postby cuse » Tue Feb 26, 2008 8:12 pm

I just commited a "fix" to liblscp, so you should now be able to rename audio channels and MIDI ports with QSampler's device management dialog. The "NAME" parameter was simply filtered out on liblscp side, not sure if this was intentionally by Rui, but we'll find out... now! :)

If anything broke, please let me know! Worked fine here so far though.
User avatar
cuse
Developer
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Naming of ports

Postby Alex » Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:31 pm

Yeehaa!

Hehe, well done C.
qsampler compiled ok (reference the other thread). and i get to name all the ports as well! In addition, the jack/alsa midi port quirk has gone, and it behaves correctly now.

3 wins in one night! I'd buy a lottery ticket if i were you. :mrgreen:

Thanks,


Alex.
:D
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Next

Return to Tips & Tricks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest