recommended setup for recording piano over midi-to-usb

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.
gertjan

recommended setup for recording piano over midi-to-usb

Post by gertjan » Sun Aug 14, 2011 3:39 pm

Hi all,

I have only recently discovered the linuxsampler project and I am very interested to start working with it. What I hope to achieve is to connect my electric piano through midi-to-usb, and use linuxsampler for both direct playback and recording using (intitially, at least) the Maestro Concert Grand sound bank. If hope I am right to assume that linuxsampler is the proper tool for that job.

I have not before tried to connect my midi-to-usb cable in linux and I lack the most basic understanding of how things are supposed to function. I have no experience with jackd, and one of the things I cannot answer for myself is if it is a required component for the straightforward (right?) task I have in mind. I have made an initial attempt, compiling libgig, gigtools, linuxsampler (with only alsa support) and jsampler, plugging in the cable and hoping for the best. That approach, unsurprisingly, failed to work (though I did see a connection between my midi cable and linuxsampler in qjackctl at some point...)

Not knowing what a proper setup looks like I decided not to search in the dark for too long but to turn here for advice. What I would like to know are which components are required for my purpose (jackd? rosegarden?) and, preferably, what practical steps to take to verify the setup. I haven't been able to find a good guide online, nor any relevant post on this forum, so any pointers to what I might have missed would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance!

Gertjan

PS The link to the Maestro Concert Grand sound bank under Free Sample Libraries appears to be broken; I found my copy at http://sonimusicae.free.fr/matshelgesso ... ro-en.html.

Alex