linuxsampler DB error on debian stretch and ubuntu 16.04.

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.

linuxsampler DB error on debian stretch and ubuntu 16.04.

Postby plusminus » Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:07 am

Future proofing on debian stretch (testing) and ubuntu 16.04. (latest long term release).
anyone notice Linuxsampler's "adding instrument from directory" on jsampler is broken under those releases?
Error message "Updating database instruments: Unknown DB instruments: /"
I've compiled linuxsampler and friends from 4 different svn's on debian jessie and ubuntu 14.04, both older long term releases.
jsampler scans my large .gig library (a forever process) which i can then easily recall, edit in live-mode through gigedit then re-save.
No problems and we keep it moving. Not so the case on debian stretch (testing) and ubuntu 16.04. (latest long term release).
plusminus
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:32 am

Re: linuxsampler DB error on debian stretch and ubuntu 16.04

Postby cuse » Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:30 pm

Might be broken, yes, haven't used the instruments DB feature for a loooong time. And it was primarily Grigor working on this feature in the past, who is not actively involved for couple years now.

So in short: you are currently on your own to fix it, in case you need to.
User avatar
cuse
Developer
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Germany

Re: linuxsampler DB error on debian stretch and ubuntu 16.04

Postby plusminus » Wed Aug 03, 2016 8:48 pm

Ouch.... :cry:
Thanks for the response. Are there other ways of managing libraries?
Maybe it's time to give qsampler another spin though i've always found it buggy.

Again, thanks for the response.
plusminus
Newbie
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:32 am

Re: linuxsampler DB error on debian stretch and ubuntu 16.04

Postby cuse » Thu Aug 04, 2016 12:04 pm

Switching to QSampler would not help you in this case. LinuxSampler's instruments DB feature was never added to QSampler. Everybody on this project had its own priorities on which features to work on, so ...

Anyway, I assume that it is just a minor distribution related issue. So it should not be hard to fix it. I guess the issue is already on LinuxSampler's side, not on JSampler's side. Both JSampler as well as QSampler communicate with LinuxSampler by using a human readable text based network protocol which we called "LSCP". You can also try to send the respective Instruments DB LSCP commands manually by yourself, either by using our command line application lscp or by the old way by using telnet:

Code: Select all
telnet localhost 8888

You might also want to look at some example LSCP scripts as an initial starting point.
User avatar
cuse
Developer
 
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:07 pm
Location: Germany


Return to Newbies & Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron