Help with compile time settings for a Q6600 linux box

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.
dronil

Help with compile time settings for a Q6600 linux box

Post by dronil » Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:03 pm

Hi,

Sorry if this has already been answered somewhere, but since I am a real newbie/dummy with linux and linuxsampler, I'd really appreciate some guidance! (This is actually my first post to a bb ever, so please bear with me.)

Thing is, would someone recommend compile time settings for an Intel Q6600 (core2quad) 64-bit UbuntuStudio 8.04.1, 8Gbyte RAM system where increased polyphony is needed?

I've been trying to understand what settings to change but I am still very uncertain what settings should be changed to what degree and why...(as I said I am really ignorant to all this...). I've read the debian howto on the main site and most of the topics in this bb and I am still uncertain what to do...

I do have LS running today but want to increase polyphony and at the same time optimize for my hardware. I really like LS and will from now on take the linux path (abandoning MS$). I use it both for playing virtual piano and a virtual theater pipe organ (MiditZer) and it works great - but with Miditzer it seems I sometimes run out of polyphony (or is it voices?).

I have also been trying to find out what all compile time default (and min-max) settings and metrics are - is this documented somewhere?

Sorry if I sound confusing, hope you understand what I'm looking for...

Anyway, any input will be highly appreciated, for sure!

/dronil

ccherrett
Advanced User

Re: Help with compile time settings for a Q6600 linux box

Post by ccherrett » Tue Aug 12, 2008 3:54 am

--enable-preload-samples=32768
--enable-max-streams=800
--enable-max-voices=760

That is what I have setup for my config. You set those variables when running ./configure.

So: