Getting Linuxsampler to work with USB MIDI keyboard

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.
d_darkness

Getting Linuxsampler to work with USB MIDI keyboard

Post by d_darkness » Wed Jul 30, 2008 3:04 pm

Im new to ubuntu, and i've got linuxsampler installed, and im trying to connect my m-audio keystation 49e usb midi keyboard to the computer.
when writing lsusb in the terminal, i can see that the computer finds the usb devise.
Where to go now? What do i have to do to get the midi keyboard working, and set up things so that i can use it to play .gig files loaded up in qsampler?

I got it to work in windows with jsampler, but have to get it to work in ubuntu, and without jsampler.

Thanks

Alex

Re: Getting linuxsampler to work with usb midi keyboard

Post by Alex » Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:12 pm

d_darkness,

I'll assume here that you have alsa and jack installed correctly, and you're using Qjackctl as the frontend (gui) for the jack server.

Open Qsampler and assign Alsa midi outputs, and jack audio outputs (for testing with). Go to jack, and check the alsa midi tab. Keyboard output should be on the left, and linuxsampler input on the right. Cable them together, and then check LSampler audio (in the audio tab) is cabled to your system output.

Get back here if you have a further problem.

Alex.

DarkWolf

Post by DarkWolf » Sun Aug 10, 2008 12:59 pm

Hi, I'm in d_'s band, and we're working on this together :)

Now, I've got Jack and Qsampler working together, but we've got one huge problem, lag!

For some reason when I play the samples, they kind of crack every once in a while, more often then not too be honest.

Are there any tweaks or settings we're missing? Any tips?