qsampler depends on libqt4-core (>= 4.2.2) problem on Etch

You're new to the LinuxSampler world? You don't know where to start and nothing works? Here's the place to ask for help.
browny_amiga

qsampler depends on libqt4-core (>= 4.2.2) problem on Etch

Post by browny_amiga » Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:24 pm

Hi all

I am new to linuxsampler and find it a wonderful thing. I intend to port all my music making away from Gigastudio that I run on WIndows currently, to Linux (which will perform more reliably).

I have been trying to setup linuxsampler with Debian etch and run into a snag:

dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of qsampler:
qsampler depends on libqt4-core (>= 4.2.2); however:
Version of libqt4-core on system is 4.2.1-2+etch1.
qsampler depends on libqt4-gui (>= 4.2.2); however:
Version of libqt4-gui on system is 4.2.1-2+etch1.
dpkg: error processing qsampler (--install):
dependency problems - leaving unconfigured

libqt4-core and gui is not available at that high version on Etch, so I cannot install qsampler. This is a standard Debian Etch system, updated to the max.
I don't know how to solve this problem.

Markus

dahnielson

Re: qsampler depends on libqt4-core (>= 4.2.2) problem on Etch

Post by dahnielson » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:30 pm

If you serious about using LinuxSampler then you should use JSampler anyway as front end, it incorporates all of LS features and is more actively developed.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux

browny_amiga

Re: qsampler depends on libqt4-core (>= 4.2.2) problem on Etch

Post by browny_amiga » Wed Apr 30, 2008 12:34 am

Good to know that. I am compiling it now myself, but it is not easy, I always run into a snag somewhere, so far missing many -dev packages.