What's your setup?

Everything and anything, but nothing about the LinuxSampler project.

Re: What's your setup?

Postby Alex » Tue Jun 03, 2008 6:44 pm

davephillips wrote:............ and Fons Adriaensen's phenomenal Aeolus.

Really, these days when someone complains about not being able to use Linux for making music, I have to wonder what they're smoking.


Dave,
you get my vote on both counts.
Aeolus is outstanding to use.
And there's more than enough tools to write and produce with.....

Alex.
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: What's your setup?

Postby davephillips » Wed Jun 04, 2008 1:45 pm

Alex wrote:... there's more than enough tools to write and produce with.....


Indeed. I forgot to mention one new app that's been making waves (pun intended) here in the studio:

Rakarrack -- guitar effects processor par excellence

Truly outstanding Linux audio software. My students love it, they all want it, but alas, no version for Windows. ;)
User avatar
davephillips
User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 3:32 pm

Re: What's your setup?

Postby Alex » Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:20 am

davephillips wrote:
Alex wrote:... there's more than enough tools to write and produce with.....


Indeed. I forgot to mention one new app that's been making waves (pun intended) here in the studio:

Rakarrack -- guitar effects processor par excellence

Truly outstanding Linux audio software. My students love it, they all want it, but alas, no version for Windows. ;)


Dave,
I'll add to this one of my personal favourites, and that's Livemix. A standalone mixer that works a treat with jack and other apps. I've tried Jamin, and that's ok, but Livemix gives me a lot more control and tweakability over the sound.
An excellent standalone mixer app, ideal for taking the combination of all one's noise, and giving the user lots of control over the final result.

Alex.

p.s. I would hope one day in the future that Linuxsampler will have it's own fully fledged mixer built in, and so enhance the programme's capabilities even further.
Alex
Moderator
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 9:08 pm

Re: What's your setup?

Postby dougal2 » Thu Jul 09, 2009 1:28 am

OK, I might as well get involved.

Currently I'm running 2 machines, but my emphasis is mostly on real recorded audio, not sampling. The sampler may well prove to be a temporary addition to the main goal, depending on how well I can get it all to work together.

1. Main Audio/Sequencer
Athlon 3500+ in shuttle small form factor case. 1GB RAM, 160GB HDD.
MOTU 324 + MOTU 2408 (24 channel TDIF)
Terratec PHASE 88 FireWire
Win XP Pro

24x TDIF digital audio feeds to a Tascam DM24. I also have various outboard processors; a Lexicon MPX100 and a TL Audio Fatman 1 being notable examples.

I use the MOTU and the Terratec simultaneously with ASIO4ALL, giving 32 channels (24 TDIF and 8 Analogue) in and out to Cubase SX 3 (actually, the Terratec has spdif too, so 34 channels, but I have no use for it at the minute). I mostly use the Terratec's audio IO as track inserts in cubase.
Of the 2 sets of MIDI IO on the Terratec, one pair forms a loop with the DM24 for closed loop MMC (this loop also includes the MPX100 for delay time sync to tempo) so that I can use the transport on the desk and sync automation and MIDI control of motorised faders etc etc.
Of the other MIDI IO, the out channel goes to the Sampler PC, and the other input is free for keyboards, drum pads etc as necessary.


2. Sampler PC
Intel Core2Quad Q8300, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD.
M Audio Delta 1010LT (8 analogue outs feed into the DM24).
Linux Ubuntu 9.04
LS from CVS of a few days ago
Fantasia pre-build, latest I could find.
VSL 1st Edition (on loan).


I really wanted the audio/sequencer on a quadcore too, but the MOTU 324 card doesn't work in newer motherboards. I have a replacement 424 card coming soon, at which point the old Athlon 3500+ will once again be relegated to email/internet duties and another Q8300 will perform audio/sequencing duties for me.


All of this outputs through a vintage Rogers stereo valve amp into a pair of 15" Tannoy Monitor Golds (in incorrect cabinets for now, but I'm working on that... slowly).
dougal2
User
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:42 pm

Previous

Return to 100% Project Unrelated

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron