The Design Thread

This forum section was originally created while we were discussing a new, additional engine and sampler format designed from scratch. In the meantime this resulted in our new SFZ2 engine, which is already implemented to a large extent. However this is still the right place for ideas, feature requests, drafts and plans for new engine / format concepts and ideas. We now have 3 sampler engines (Gig, SFZ2, SoundFont 2). Why not having more?
Consul

The Design Thread

Post by Consul » Fri Jan 25, 2008 7:05 pm

The idea here is to create a companion thread to "The Ideas Collection" that can hopefully help us nail down a final architecture for this new engine.

I'm still a beginner coder, but I do know a thing or two about music. :) One of the big issues I always have with large projects is knowing what to start with. A project like this is definitely large. Even with a solid design, knowing what first piece of code to write can be difficult. So at this point, perhaps deciding on a solid design would be a good first step.

I really don't want to step on any toes here, Christian and Benno, so please feel free to reign me in if you feel I'm overstepping my bounds.
Darren Landrum

Consul

Re: The Design Thread

Post by Consul » Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:53 am

Okay, I've been doing some more thinking. Here's an idea and some drawings of how this modular system might go together.

First, an overview of the whole thing:

The idea here is that there is a global (this would be "global" on a per-patch basis) section that handles the things all notes need (MIDI messages, etc.). This is also the process that the child voice threads will be spawning off of. The mixer probably doesn't really need any explanation, but this is where global effects routing would happen.

Here's a close-up of an example of the global section: