Any gotchas in 64 bit builds?

You name it!

Any gotchas in 64 bit builds?

Postby songshop » Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:57 am

apart from no vst's is there anything specifically I need to whatch for in 64 bit. java ok for fantasia ? etc before i blow my 32bit build to hell.. :)

g
songshop
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:28 am
Location: Lower Templestowe, Victoria. Australia

Re: any gotchas in 64 bit builds...

Postby dahnielson » Sat Feb 09, 2008 1:06 am

Yes, Java is totally ok now when Sun have released it as source and you can compile it yourself. But nothing related to LinuxSampler. I'm running 64 bit Gentoo.

The only gotchas is that there are no pre-compiled 64 bit Firefox or OpenOffice.org builds, only 32 bit which won't be styled by the 64 bit theme engine. The solution is to either install a 32 bit theme engine or simply compile Firefox and OO.org youself. I did the later, which mean I had to emerge nspluginwrapper to be able to use 32 bit plugins in Firefox (like Flash).
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden

Re: any gotchas in 64 bit builds...

Postby songshop » Sat Feb 09, 2008 4:53 am

Hey thanks Anders ;) I'm using Opera atm and loving it. havn't used it for yonks but I really likr it now.a fraction of the dependancies firefox has under portage too; 6 for Opera 132 for Firefox including gcc3.3x ! I'd just rebuilt from scratch with gcc 4.4.2 so I put Opera in instead. happy i did

looks like my sampler machine will be 64bit by the end of the week :)

best

g.
songshop
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 2:28 am
Location: Lower Templestowe, Victoria. Australia

Re: any gotchas in 64 bit builds...

Postby dahnielson » Sat Feb 09, 2008 12:06 pm

songshop wrote:apart from no vst's is there anything specifically I need to whatch for in 64 bit.


Actually, you can use VST's if you install wine, wineasio (which include jack_bridge) and a Win32 VST host. But that's nothing I have used, guess Alex can tell you more about it.
Anders Dahnielson

Ardour2, Qtractor, Linuxsampler, M-AUDIO Delta 1010, Axiom 61, Korg D12, AKAI S2000, E-MU Proteus 2k, Roland R-5, Roland HP 1300e, Zoom RFX-1000, 4GB RAM x86_64 Intel Pentium Dual 1.80GHz Gentoo Linux
User avatar
dahnielson
Moderator
 
Posts: 632
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 pm
Location: Linköping / Tranås, Sweden


Return to General LinuxSampler Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron